musician composer bandleader educator

Celebration of the Spirit

By Jazz Composers Alliance Orchestra

Celebration of the Spirit


  • Jazz Composers Alliance Orchestra

Recording track list:

  1. How to Say Goodbye 8:35
  2. Elegies 7:25
  3. And Recollections 7:52
  4. Ice Time 5:13
  5. Toscar 9:53
  6. Industrial Hearts 9:08
  7. Nodes 5:07
  8. Th-outward 19:07

Celebration of the Spirit: release info

C.I.M.P. (2004)

This recording features music by JCA resident compossers Laura Andel, David Harris, Darrell Katz, Ken Schaphorst and Warren Senders.

When The Jazz Composers Alliance was founded in 1985, its agenda included the establishment of an active public forum for the presentation of new jazz works, the creation of the JCA Orchestra, and a concert series that included a visiting composers program. Since then, the JCA initiated the Julius Hemphill Composition Awards, an annual competition promoting the most interesting and progressive work by jazz composers around the world, created two other ensembles, the JCA Sax Quartet and JCA Winds, and released 6 CD's. With some of New England's finest improvising musicians in its ranks, the JCA Orchestra has premiered over 120 new pieces by its resident composers along with commissioned works by Muhal Richard Abrams, Marty Ehrlich and Wayne Horvitz; JCA performances have featured collaborations with major jazz recording artists such as Tim Berne, Steve Lacy, Henry Threadgill, Sam Rivers, Anthony Davis, Bob Moses, Dave Holland, Julius Hemphill, Ricky Ford, Michael Gibbs, Fred Ho, Maria Schneider, and Dave Fiuczysnki; Hemphill and Rivers can be heard on earlier JCA Orchestra albums.

Band members over the years have included John Medeski, Jim Black, Chris Speed, Billy Kilson and many others.